Hackfest Soldering Village 2018

What is Hackfest Soldering Village ?

The soldering village is an activity where HackFest participants will be able to compete for various soldering challenges, provided free of charge by the village organization. The village will be equipped with several soldering stations and with all the tools and consumables required to accomplish the proposed challenges. The village is meant to be collaborative, you can experiment on your own, but people with advanced skills are strongly encouraged to help beginners.

The following activities are offered by the soldering village

The soldering village will offer 4 levels of challenges for free:

  • Level 1 (introduction): 12 THC component to solder (takes 10 to 15 minutes)
  • Level 2 (intermediate): TBA, waiting for confirmation.
  • mLevel 3 (expert): 20 SMD component to solder, 12 SMD micro-solder (takes 45 min to 1h)
  • Level 4 (master): 48 SMD component to solder, 40 SMD micro-solder (takes 1h to 1h15)

Participating attendees who wish to compete can be timed to establish the "best soldering time billboard". Participants must complete challenges in order of difficulty to avoid wasting kits.

Workshop

In addition to the equipment that will be provided to participants to accomplish the soldering challenges, the village will offer two sessions (workshop) titled "introduction to soldering". During these times, the soldering equipment and seating will be reserved for people who want to become familiar with soldering in a step-by-step session. These sessions will take place in the village itself. No registration required, seating is limited, first come, first served. Schedule to be announced.

#BadgeLife

In order to import the #BadgeLife and #SAO (Shity Add-Ons) culture in Québec, which is gaining in popularity at major's American conventions, the soldering village will reserve a secure location, in the form of a display, so those who wish can display their arsenal of rare electronic badge. Bring us your rarest badges, they will be numbered and displayed for the public's view. You can reclaim your badge, after the event on Sunday morning between 09:00 and 12:00.

It is not necessary, but not forbidden, to bring your own equipment and / or external projects on which you wish to work.

Rules

It is forbidden to bring any liquid (including water bottles) and food to the tables where the soldering equipment is located.

Village offer by

Martin Lebel

How to participate ?

No registration is required. First come, first served for the during the workshop time frame. The seats are limited.

Call for Volunteers

If you are interested in giving us some time or if you think you can bring an additional value to this village. Feel free to email us at [email protected]

Hackfest Soldering Village 2018

Qu’est-ce que le Hackfest Soldering Village ?

Le village de soudure est un emplacement ou les participants du HackFest pourront se mesurer à divers défis de soudure, fournis gratuitement par l'organisation du village. Le village sera équipé de plusieurs stations de soudure avec tous les outils et les consommables requis pour réaliser les défis proposés. L'espace se veut collaboratif, vous pourrez expérimenter par vous-même, mais les personnes plus habiles sont fortement encouragées à aider les débutants.

Quelles sont les activités offertes par le village de soudure ?

Le village de soudure offrira gratuitement 4 nivaux de défaits à réaliser :

  • Niveau 1 (introduction) : 12 soudures THC (10 à 15 minutes)
  • Niveau 2 (intermédiaire) : À être annoncé, en attente de confirmation.
  • Niveau 3 (expert) : 20 soudures SMD, 12 microsoudures SMD (45min à 1h)
  • Niveau 4 (maitre) : 48 soudures SMD, 40 microsoudures SMD (1h à 1h15)

Ceux qui le désirent pourront être chronométrés afin d'établir le tableau des records. Les participants doivent réaliser les défis en ordre de difficulté afin d'éviter le gaspillage.

Workshop

En plus des équipements qui seront fournis aux participants pour réaliser les défis de soudure, le village proposera deux séances (workshop) d'introduction à la soudure. Pendant ces plages horaires, les équipements seront réservés aux gens qui désirent se familiariser à la soudure dans un atelier pas à pas. Ces séances se dérouleront dans l'emplacement même du village. Aucune inscription requise, les places sont limitées, premier arrivé, premier servit. Horaire à venir.

#BadgeLife

Dans le bût d'importer au Québec la culture #BadgeLife et #SAO (Shity Add-Ons) qui prend énormément d'ampleur dans les conventions américaines. Le village de soudure réservera un emplacement sécurisé, sous la forme d'un présentoir, pour que ceux qui le désirent puissent exposer leur arsenal de badge électronique. Apportez-nous vos badges les plus rares, elles seront numérotées et exposées pour le plaisir du public. Vous pourrez récupérer vos possessions le dimanche matin entre 09h00 et midi.

Il n'est pas nécessaire, mais pas interdit, d'apporter vos propres équipements et/ou projets avec lesquels vous désirez travailler.

Règlement

Il sera interdit d'apporter tout liquide (y compris les bouteilles d'eau) et nourriture sur les tables là où les équipements de soudure se trouvent.

Présenté par

Martin Lebel

Comment y participer ?

Aucune inscription requise. Premier arrivé, premier servit pour les Workshop. Les places sont limitées.

Appels aux bénévoles

Si vous êtes intéressé à donner un peu de temps ou à apporter une valeur additionnelle à ce village. N'hésitez pas à nous écrire un courriel à [email protected]